Hakobune Ginza

I went to Hakobune, which they call a “slow food” izakaya. They serve only locally grown ingredients in season and the style is becoming a rising trend among Tokyoites who are looking for an oasis in their first-lane environment. I had been curious about the restaurant and asked my friends to go. The sake there was exclusively from the West Coast of Japan, Niigata, Ishikawa, Toyama, and Fukui prefectures. They display hundreds of bottles of sake in the refrigerated “sake” cellar and I was overwhelmed by the quantity and the quality. I enjoyed the fried Toyama white shrimp and Ishikawa chicken with Niigata sake. Each table was equipped with a concealable Irori grill, which I think I should try the next time. Hakobune literally means an ark ship. Please help them a lot by unloading their stuff.

Leave a Reply

